The Crime Writers Association Longlists…

CWA DaggersThe The Crime Writers Association was established in 1953 by prolific crime author John Creasey. The longlists for the annual Dagger awards presented by the  CWA were announced at CrimeFest in Bristol a couple of weeks ago.

It struck the Shiny Eds that quite a few of the novels on the longlists have been reviewed in Shiny New Books or on some of our regular contributors’ blogs, so we thought we’d share them with you with appropriate links. For crime fans, there is a lot of good reason in the longlists below.

The CWA Daggers, the most prestigious awards for crime authors and publishers in the UK are awarded in 10 categories.  The Diamond Dagger for an outstanding career in crime fiction was awarded earlier this year to Peter James.

Here are the main Dagger longlists for 2016.

Goldsboro Gold Dagger – for the best crime novel of the year (Sponsored by Goldsboro Books)

  • after you dieDodgers by Bill Beverly, published by No Exit Press
  • Black Widow by Christopher Brookmyre, published by Little Brown
  • After You Die by Eve Dolan, published by Harvill Secker
  • Real Tigers by Mick Herron, published by John Murray (on Annabel’s blog)
  • Finders Keepers by Stephen King, published by Hodder & Stoughton
  • Dead Pretty by David Mark, published by Mulholland Books
  • Blood Salt Water by Denise Mina, published by Orion
  • She Died Young by Elizabeth Wilson, published by Serpent’s Tail

Ian Fleming Steel Dagger – for the best crime thriller of the year (Sponsored by Ian Fleming Publications)

  • AmericanThe Cartel by Don Winslow, published by William Heinemann
  • The English Spy by Daniel Silva, published by HarperCollins
  • Bone by Bone by Sanjida Kay, published by Corvus
  • Rain Dogs by Adrian McKinty, published by Serpent’s Tail
  • Real Tigers by Mick Herron, published by John Murray (on Annabel’s blog)
  • The Hot Countries by Timothy Hallinan, published by Soho Crime
  • Black Eyed Susans by Julia Hearberlin, published by Michael Joseph (on Annabel’s blog)
  • Make Me by Lee Child, published by Bantam Press
  • Spy Games by Adam Brookes, published by Sphere
  • The American by Nadia Dalbuono, published by Scribe UK

 John Creasey New Blood Dagger – for the best debut crime novel

  • Fever CityFever City by Tim Baker, published by Faber & Faber
  • Dodgers by Bill Beverly, published by No Exit Press
  • Mr Miller by Charles Den Tex, published by World Editions
  • The Teacher by Katerina Diamond, published by Avon
  • Wicked Game by Matt Johnson, published by Orenda Books
  • Freedom’s Child by Jax Miller, published by HarperCollins
  • Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh, published by Jonathan Cape (on Eleanor Franzen’s blog)
  • The Dark Inside by Rod Reynolds, published by Faber & Faber
  • The Good Liar by Nicholas Searle, published by Viking

Endeavour Historical Dagger – for the best historical crime novel (Sponsored by Endeavour Press)

  • smoke and mirrorsThe House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby, published by Pan Books
  • A Death in the Dales by Frances Brody,  published by Piatkus
  • A Man of Some Repute and A Question of Inheritance by Elizabeth Edmondson, published by Thomas & Mercer
  • Smoke and Mirrors by Elly Griffiths,  published by Quercus (on Harriet’s blog)
  • The Last Confessions of Thomas Hawkins by Antonia Hodgson,  published by Hodder & Stoughton
  • The Other Side of Silence by Philip Kerr,  published by Quercus
  • A Book of Scars by William Shaw,  published by Quercus
  • The Jazz Files by Fiona Veitch Smith, published by Lion Fiction
  • Striking Murder by A. J. Wright, published by Allison & Busby
  • Stasi Child by David Young,  published by Twenty7Books

Non-Fiction Dagger – for non-fiction crime

  • thomas grantThe Golden Age of Murder by Martin Edwards, published by HarperCollins
  • Sexy Beasts: The Hatton Garden Mob by Wensley Clarkson, published by Quercus
  • You Could Do Something Amazing With Your Life (You Are Raoul Moat) by Andrew Hankinson, published by Scribe
  • A Very Expensive Poison by Luke Harding, published by Faber & Faber
  • Jeremy Hutchinson’s Case Histories by Thomas Grant, published by John Murray
  • John le Carré: The Biography by Adam Sisman, published by Bloomsbury

International Dagger – for crime fiction translated into English and published in the UK

  • six fourThe Truth and Other Lies by Sascha Arango, translated by Imogen Taylor, published by Simon & Schuster (on Annabel’s blog)
  • The Great Swindle by Pierre Lemaître, translated by Frank Wynne, published by MacLehose Press
  • Icarus by Deon Meyer, translated by K L Seegers, published by Hodder & Stoughton
  • The Sword of Justice by Leif G.W. Persson, translated by Neil Smith, published by Doubleday
  • The Murderer in Ruins by Cay Rademacher, translated by Peter Millar, published by Arcadia
  • The Father by Anton Svensson, translation not credited, published by Sphere
  • The Voices Beyond by Johan Theorin, translated by Marlaine Delargy, published by Transworld
  • Six Four by Hideo Yokoyama, translated by Jonathan Lloyd-Davis, published by Quercus

Shortlists for the Daggers will be announced later in the summer and the winners will be announced at an Awards Dinner in London on 11 October.



















Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *